What is Stress? Part One

Stress

We all have it; we all deal with it in different ways.

Some handle stress well, while others do not.


Do you know how you deal with stress?

So what is stress?

For myself, stress is me procrastinating and having an overload of stuff to get done. Now I know the procrastinating is on me. If I did not procrastinate would I still have stress? Well I think yes. I think life is full of all kinds of stress.

There are all kinds of different ways to deal with stress. The key to stress is finding the best way for you to deal with stress in a healthy way that works for you.

Let’s look at what the ‘professional’ or internet said about stress:

This is from Wikipedia:

“Stress is a person’s response to a stressor such as an environmental condition or a stimulus. Stress is a body’s way to react to a challenge. According to the stressful event, the body’s way to respond to stress is by sympathetic nervous system activation which results in the fight-or-flight response. Stress typically describes a negative condition or a positive condition that can have an impact on a person’s mental and physical well-being“.

“Stress is your body’s way of responding to any kind of demand. It can be caused by both good and bad experiences. When people feel stressed by something going on around them, their bodies react by releasing chemicals into the blood. These chemicals give people more energy and strength, which can be a good thing if their stress is caused by physical danger. But this can also be a bad thing, if their stress is in response to something emotional and there is no outlet for this extra energy and strength”.

http://www.mtstcil.org/skills/stress-definition-1.html

“The term ‘stress’ refers to the response you have when facing circumstances that force you to act, change, or adjust in some way to maintain your footing, or to keep things balanced. (The circumstances themselves are known as ‘stressors’)”.

http://stress.about.com/od/understandingstress/a/what_is_stress.htm

Body‘s way of responding to any kind of demands……

Stress can be good or bad………

Body’s way of responding to a challenge…….

Stress can influence a person’s mental and physical well-being…

Response to the circumstances around you……..

Stress forces you to act, change, or adjust in some way to keep things in balance……

Stress can be a good thing…

We all need a little push in the right direction, right? I know I do.

As with everything in life, too much of anything is not a good thing. There is always that fine line.

The word stress alone can make a person shiver. (Words are so powerful). When I look at the synonyms of stress I get……

~Pressure

~Strain

~Anxiety

~Tension

~Hassle

And the list goes on.

For myself none of these words gives me a warm fuzzy feeling.

I did say earlier that stress can be a good thing; I am still trying to figure that part out….

We all handle stress differently.

Do you know how you deal with stress?

Myself I am still trying to figure that out. One of the things that help me with some of my stress is doing this right here. Blogging.

Well so not to get myself stressed out (Pun intendant, I am not so good with Pun’s but I do try!!) I am going to stop here. But this is not the end. I plan on looking more into Stress and maybe on the way can find what works best for me, along with opening doors for others. Stress is a FACT, we all have it, we all have to deal with it.

Next time we will look at how our bodies react to stress and maybe find ways to enhance the effects of stress. We all know how detrimental stress can be on us, lets see if we can turn that around.

It is all about balance.


P.S. If you happen to come across this blog and know of any good places to go to for wonderful information, please leave me a message and I will check it out. Or you could email me at:

encouraginghealthbysarah@gmail.com

Thank You everyone and have a great day!!

2 thoughts on “What is Stress? Part One”

  1. Thank You Schorian. I am sorry it took me so long to reply back, life has a way of getting away from us. I look forward to checking out “Sympathetic Dominance” hopefully I can find the time soon…
    I hope this phase of bad anxiety is almost over and the next one takes awhile to get here…Laughter I believe is the key, and if one knows how to laugh at one’s self, life can be wonderful…….

Let's Talk!! Comments are Welcome :)

