Stress Part 2

Stress Part 2

Since I find life to be somewhat stressful lately, I feel this is an important topic.

I do not know if my life is more or less stressful lately. Maybe it is that I am aware of the stress and find the subject interesting.

For example:

These flies are driving me nuts.



I am feeling stressed over being bothered by these stupid flies.


In Stress Part 1:

We looked at what is stress and I asked, “How do you deal with stress?”

“The term ‘stress’ refers to the response you have when facing circumstances that force you to act, change, or adjust in some way to maintain your footing, or to keep things balanced. (The circumstances themselves are known as ‘stressors’)”.

http://stress.about.com/od/understandingstress/a/what_is_stress.htm

The response one has to keeping their life in balance.

We have to adjust (make choices, take action) in some way to maintain our footing or balance in our lives.

Stress Response:

Stress response is the body’s way of protecting us. It helps us stay focused, alert, and energetic. It can and has saved countless lives. Giving us extra strength to defend ourselves and our loved ones from immediate danger.

The stress response gives us the push we need to meet challenges in our lives. That’s why when something big happens most of us are able to deal with it head on.

Stress is useful and needed at certain times.

I know I am thankful for my stress response, my body responding before my head can try and annualize it.

Thank You Stress Response.

How the Body Response to Stress:

When the body response to stress, the stress is perceive as a threat. The nervous system releases a flood of hormones, ‘adrenaline and cortisol’. These hormones awaken the body and prepare it for action. Heart pumps faster, breath quickens, muscles contract and our strength and stamina increases. We become focused and ready for the danger that awaits us. This is known as our fight or flight response.



Like all things in life, too much of anything is not good.

Too much stress

Can do a lot of damage to our health, mood, productivity, and our relationships, along with the quality of our lives.

Recognizing Your Stress Levels:

It is important to learn how to recognize our stress levels. Stress levels can creep up on us and become out of control without our knowledge that they are out of control. We get used to things. It starts to feel familiar or even normal. We become blind to how out of control our stress is and how it is affecting us, even as it takes a heavy toll on our lives.

Before we know it our relationships are suffering, our health is in jeopardy, our moods suck, and our productivity is down. We become depressed and feelings of hopelessness invade us.

Signs and Symptoms of Stress Overload:

We all experience stress differently. What is stress to one person may not be stressful to the next person.

That is why it is important for us to know ourselves.

The signs and symptoms of stress overload are different for everyone. Stress affects the mind, body, and behavior in many ways and everyone experience stress differently.

Stress doesn’t always look stressful.

Because of the damage stress can have on our mind, bodies & souls it is important to know our own limit.

How Much Stress is too Much?

How much stress is “too much” will be different from person

to person. Some people can roll with the punches, while

other crumble at the slightest obstacle or frustration. Then

there are those that seem to thrive on the excitement and

challenge of a high-stress lifestyle.

Our ability to tolerate stress depends on many factors:

The quality of our relationships

Our general outlook on life

 Our emotional intelligence

Our genetics.

Things that Influence our Stress Tolerance Level:

Support Network – Having supportive friends and family

can be an enormous buffer against life’s stressors.

`The more isolated you are the greater your vulnerability is to stress.

Sense of Control – confidence in yourself and your

ability to influence events and handle challenges allows

us to take stress in strides.

~Those that are vulnerable to stress tend to feel like things are out of their control.

Attitude and outlook – having an optimistic attitude has a

profound effect on how we handle stress. Having a sense of

humor, accepting that change is a part of life, and believing

in a higher power or purpose also influence how we handle stress.

How we handle our emotions – Stress can overcome us if we

cannot calm and soothe ourselves when feelings of sadness,

anger, being afraid are a pond us. The ability to bring our

emotions into balance helps us bounce back from adversity.

Knowledge and preparation – The more we know about a

situation, the better we can deal with the stress. Things

like ‘what to expect’, ‘how long it will last’, ‘what will

happen’ make it easier for us to cope with.

Questions to ask ourselves:

Am I in control of stress, or is stress controlling me?

When I feel agitated, do I know how to quickly calm and

soothe myself?

Can I easily let go of my anger?

Can I turn to others at work to help me calm down and feel

better?

When I come home at night, do I walk in the door feeling

alert and relaxed?

Am I seldom distracted or moody?

Am I able to recognize upsets that others seem to be

experiencing?

Do I easily turn to friends or family members for a calming influence?

When my energy is low, do I know how to boost it?

http://helpguide.org/mental/stress_signs.htm


So far we have looked at ‘what is stress’, ‘how do you

handle stress’, ‘how everyone’s stress is different’, ‘how are

body’s react to stress or stress response’, ‘some signs and

symptoms of overload’, ‘importance of knowing our stress

tolerance’, ‘some ideas on how stress influence the way we

handle it’.

There is a lot out there on stress. This is just a tiny bit of

information. I myself need to learn more about stress and

how I can handle stress more effectively than I do today.

I have tried to make this easy to read, with a few things for

myself and all my readers to think about in the process.

Next time we will look at the toll stress has on the body.

Why it is so important for all of us to manage our stress.



Published by: Encouraging Health & Wellness

Encouraging Health & Wellness by Sarah My goal is to encourage health & wellness for body, mind, & soul to everyone I meet. Including myself, my family, & my friends. Melt Away Moments by Melody To make all natural products with quality ingredients at affordable price. To help encourage health & wellness for body, mind, & soul in all.

Categories StressLeave a comment

Let's Talk!! Comments are Welcome :)

